Morning Step #1 & 2: Elixirs and Smoothies

The first step in my morning breakfast routine is an elixir. It wakes up and cleanses the stomach preparing the digestive system for foods and extracting the nutrients efficiently. Here’s a few options I use for my early morning elixir…

1) Juice from 1 lemon
Bitters (such as Angostura), several dashes, and I mean several
Mint (I use Peppermint tea)
Water

2) Juice from 1 lemon
Tumeric powder
Cinnamon
Cayenne, dash
Water

3) Juice from 1 lemon
Ginger, freah and grated
Honey (just enough to sweeten a bit)
Water

So the pic on the left is the lemon juice, bitters and mint tea (steeped strong) adding up to about 8oz. The water I add to it results in the whole drink equaling about 20 oz. A good start to consuming enough water each day (see Water post). Mix it up and find other goodies to add!

All shook up and ready to go!

The second step in my morning breakfast routine is my smoothie. There are so many variations; check out my post on smoothies here. My new thing is frozen fruit….the price is comparable and it’s so convenient.

One thing I’ve started adding to my smoothies is matcha (check out the benefits here). A great energy booster and antioxidant. 

And the third step is protein….stay tuned for this post!

Your,
Natural Groove Gal 

Share your thoughts:

