Hawaiian Salmon Poke

image

Okay granted this was not in any way inspired by my beloved magazine (as I wrote in my last blog). This was a creation from last week when my boyfriend asked if I could make dinner one night, so of course I jump on my Pinterest. It didn’t take long in my perusing to find this refreshing dish. I adapted the recipe and made a few changes and additions. I also had originally put the avocado in the mix right away, but found that it became a bit “mushed” after I refrigerated the mixture. So here is my revised edition:

Hawaiian Salmon Poke (3-4 servings)

Recipe:
1 lb. Salmon Fillet, skinned and cubed
1/4 cup Onion, minced
1/4 cup Green Onion, chopped
1 tsp Ginger, grated
1 Tbsp Honey (or your choice of NATURAL sweetener)
1/4 cup Light Soy Sauce
1/2 Lime, juiced
2 small Avocados, cubed
2 cups Rice, cooked

Garnish:
1/2 cup Green Onion, chopped
Black Sesame Seeds

Optional:
Nori – can use as a wrap for “handroll” style
Sriracha – to your taste
And for those of you who love Cilantro, throw some in!

1) Toss all the ingredients together EXCEPT avocado and rice. Cover and place in fridge for an hour.
2) Remove mixture from fridge and cut up the avocado, tossing gently into mixture, set aside.
3) Dish cooked rice into bowls. Serve salmon mixture in a separate bowl or the same one, up to you!
4) Add garnishes and you’re good to go!

Enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Hawaiian Salmon Poke

Share your thoughts:

