Raw Porridge (Overnight Oats)

I have never been a fan of porridge. I find it plain and boring, and to add flavour you must pile on milk and sugar. Even then it still wasn’t enjoyable for me. Plus it’s boiled to death which diminishes a lot of the nutrition, let along flavour.

So when I came across this in my pinterest browsings I was intrigued. After I experimented – it is now my new favourite thing! It’s so easy to make too.

Here’s what I use to make it:

2 Tbsp Steel Cut Oats
2 Tbsp Chia Seeds/Flax seeds
4 Tbsp Yogurt
4 Tbsp Almond/Coconut Milk
Pinch of Nutmeg or Cinnamon (optional)

These measurements are just to give you an idea. I don’t actually measure everything out exactly, but eye it out instead. If you want you may add honey or maple syrup for sweetness but I find I never need to add any, especially when I use dark chocolate almond milk or vanilla or coconut yogurt (yes coconut yogurt – if you have not tried this I highly recommend it! Liberte does an amazing one in their Mediterranean line).

IMAG2050

To make this fabulous morning snack all you do is mix all the ingredients together well in a sealable container, cover it and refrigerate overnight (about 12 hours). That’s it! In the morning I just grab it out of the fridge along with my smoothie and I’m good to go. Below is the after mixing all the ingrediants.

IMAG2051

And then after refrigerating, giving it a little stir.

IMAG2056

The texture is a little chewy, which I love. The seeds release their goodness when absorbing any liquid. Both chia and flax seeds must be soaked in order for you body to absorb the nutrition. If consumed as is, they will just pass straight through your body, making it pointless to add to your diet.

This raw porridge is packed with fibre, proteins, omega 3’s and probiotics (good bacteria),  a great late morning snack to keep you going throughout the day (and gets you to lunch without any of those stomach grumbles!) Plus its completely raw – meaning all the nutrition is retained.

I honestly don’t know how I didn’t stumble upon this sooner but I am so glad I finally did. Give it a go!  Get natural!

Share your thoughts:

