Morning Routine

Mornings. We all have to deal with it. Might as well start it off right! Here is a run down on how I typically start my day:

When I wake up I sit up on the side of my bed and take a few slow deep breaths. This helps kick start the circulation in the body and gets some much needed oxygen into your system. I continue by stretching my neck, shoulders and arms to continue that awesome circulation. Next I drink about a cup of water (I keep a small container of water on my nightstand). This helps wake up your digestive system by stimulating digestive juices.

Once I get to work (or on the weekends, make it downstairs) I make myself a nice big glass of lemon water. I mix the juice of a half of a lemon with filtered water (room temperature – hot water is okay too, but cold water is not helpful for stomach function at all). I also drink it out of a straw which helps prevent acid wear on the teeth. Lemon juice is antibacterial, stimulates production of digestive juices, flushes toxins by aiding liver function, replenishes electrolytes and helps keep intestinal function running smooth. And if you want a little boost of potassium you can throw in a little lime juice as well.

Now onto my favourite part. Smoothie time! Jam packed with nutrients, it provides easy digestion and quick absorption equaling in instant energy. Here’s what I typically throw into my morning smoothie:

– Berries (and lots of ’em! I use strawberries, raspberries, blueberries)
– Spinach (big handful)
– Cucumber (chopped, big handful)
– Yogurt (about 1/2 cup, I usually go for Plain or Greek, but pictured is Vanilla as they were out of the others at the store)
– Some form of liquid, enough to make it blend smoothly (coconut water, pomegranate juice, grapefruit juice, water etc.)
– Spirulina powder (or some form of greens powder, 1 Tbsp)

IMAG1947 IMAG1948

Yes! It’s green! DRINK it. So natural and delicious. If you must, just add more fruit/juice to change the taste. Remember, just think about it, there is basically an entire salad in there that you didn’t have to eat! So easy!

During my Pinterest perusing I found several helpful charts that breakdown how to create a complete smoothie. Here are a couple of examples. There are a ton of these charts floating around, so just plug in “smoothie” on you internet search if you want more ideas!

green smoothie  how-to-make-a-perfect-smoothie

And here is a list of “boosters” or an extra healthy kick to add to your morning yumminess!

 3717edc95a98cfedbfb03af63339fe56

So there you go! The complete breakdown of my morning. Give it a try and I’m sure you’ll be loving it as much as I do 🙂 Until next time and remember, Get Natural!

Share your thoughts:

